Picture
Southbound 201 with Dc 4260 on the pointy end.
I was given the chance to get up country, somewhere I have not been in over 7 years!! While on a road trip mission for my Mother In Law (see "models" blog) I had a chance to hang around in Te Kuiti for an hour or two. After a quick call on the Foamer Hotline I was happy in the knowledge that train 230 would be crossing the southbound Overlander at Te Kuiti and would be there in 50 minutes or less!! Wow the gods were smiling on me today!!

Picture
230 arrived first with a modest amount of wagons at almost the same time as 201 arrived at the north end of station limits. 
I was rather pleased to have been able to gain some height for this picture by use of the wonderfull Te Kuiti pedestrian overbridge.

But, from my vantage point here, I could also see 201 aproaching, so like some frankienstien--ish  gazelle I had to make a high speed lope down the footbridge and onto the station platform if I had any hopes of getting a photo of 201. 

Picture
And yet I found I had plenty of time to relocate, making the frantic (yet modest) railfan shuffle down the boardwalk unnessecary... (doh!)

Picture
And voila! 201 approach-eth....

Picture
and stop-eth......

Picture
and leave-eth....

Picture
While I was in Te Kuiti, I followed my nose down the old industrial siding to where I presume the line ended at a one-time busy fertiliser plant.
The sign on the gate said "no shooting" !!
I found this industrial branch a few years ago, and back then most of the track (behind me) and the yard (in front of me) was largely intact.
Sadly there has been a great deal of urban growth in this direction along the former right of way, which has seen much of the line dissappear. 
The rest is hiding under grass like the yard above.

Picture
yes, there is a set of points in there!
Picture
Rounding out me Te Kuiti nostalgia trip is this photo of the very tidy turntable near the goodshed, complete with on old Ks wagon stored on the other side......

So yay!! a very successful mission into tiger country!

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.