After a shocking morning out foaming, my offerings to the Gods during the day must have been suffucient as I had some excellent Karma poured apon me in the afternoon.....
Picture
547 cresting the grade at Mokoia.
I headed south and ended up chasing 547 to Patea...
Picture
Out in the boonies near Manutahi.
Picture
Driifting through Patea...
Now I have had my eye on a couple of places I thought would make good spots to shoot from. One of them is at the north end of Patea, so with a rough idea of the location in mind, I went exploring along the side streets of Patea ( not really suitable for the faint hearted! ) until I found access to the desired location. A short stroll later and WOW.......
The view over the valley was breath taking!
Fizzing at the bung I took several shots with both camera's and both lenses on hand just to make sure I had everything right so as not to stuff up when 544 showed up!
A little while later and voila!......
Picture
544 crossing the Patea river.
Not quite content with my afternoons photo tally, I headed north to try my luck at another spot near Mokoia....
Picture
Hill Country! 544 tiptoes across the Manawapo viaduct.
Picture
.... then up through the cutting...
Picture
... and off into the sunset!
I do have to admit that I was cheeky and legged it across a farmers field to get those last shots, and said farmer was waiting for my return somewhat cross-eyed. I apologized profusely as I didnt know which farm house to seek permission from ( I didnt... there were two nearby ) and the train I sought was just about to arrive. Luckily the farmer forgave my transgressions and pointed out his house to ask permission if further visits were desired. 
I dont think I will though... once was enough for me. I knew I was pushing my luck a little! Remember kids - ask first!

With that I went home a whole lot happier than I did this morning....

AH
Mike
12/22/2011 04:38:33 am

Great shots. What do the other drivers think about one of their own out foaming? or are they all secret foamers?

Cheers

Mike

Reply
Ev
12/22/2011 08:16:58 am

While planning a layout based around Patea I was wondering what the area north towards Bridge 41 would look like....now I know! Excellent spot!

Reply
Ev
12/22/2011 08:17:50 am

And.....nice to see a vomit-bonnet DFB on the front of 547as well!

Reply
WIlliam R
12/22/2011 03:02:32 pm

Mmmm love the shot at Manutahi! As for the future of the blog all i can say is this is one of the few rail related sites in NZ that isn't filled with retards or GOM's... a welcome break to say the least.

Reply
SteveF
12/23/2011 10:48:21 am

Wow. Again. Stunning shots Andrew! Yes that is a picturesque part of the country around south naki and especially Patea and the Whenuakura River valley. Must admit slight bias though as relies once farmed there.

The leading photo at Makoia has really nice lowlight in the nose allowing the loco lights to shine more brightly. How to make a snot nose look slightly acceptable! Well done.

SteveF

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.