Picture
5143 on the pointy end of 543.
Fell out of bed at 0330 this morning and made my into the darkness. 
Rounding the corner at work I was pleasntly surprised to find 5143 on the front of 543. Its been living in Auckland for the last couple of years so its nice to see something a bit different. I believe its just "passing through" as it and the two DXR's are being transferred to the South Island.
Bugger.... its dark, there's no guaranteeing it will be back and I don't have a tripod..... so what better tripod to use than the ground!?? LOL.
Kinda pleased the shot worked out as it was a total blind guess at aim and settings, set the timer and plop the camera on the ground..

So I headed south with 543, and sat in the loop at Patea for a while waiting for 540 (5166 and 7267) then carried on to find 526 at Kai Iwi.
Picture
526 in the early morning gloom at Kai Iwi.
Changed over and got another nice suprise.... 5016 was my trail loco - yet another loco straight out of Jafastan! As more of the DL's have come into service, some of the other locos are being redeployed. I think 5016 has joined us for the milk season, which will be nice as its a real goodie...
Picture
Tamper and regulator at Kai Iwi.
There was also a tamper and regulator tucked away on the short "service siding" at Kai Iwi. With warrant in hand I set sail for Whareroa and all points north.
Picture
Yard shunt pushes wagons onto my train.
I had a short wait at Whareroa while my locos were cut off my train and the yard shunt added a couple of wagons to the head, carrying containers full of butter bound for the port at New Plymouth.
Heading north, it rained almost all the way to Lepperton, until at last I found a bit of sunshine at Smart Road.
I serviced my engines and parked them up next to 5051, which came in on 520 earlier on this morning.
And with the sun shining down from above, I just couldnt help myself.... sun over the shoulder 3/4 roster shots...wooot! :-)
Picture
Ahhh everybody loves a good wedgie eh? :-)
Picture
Picture
A pair of GE's finest!
I must admit that I have grown very fond of the KR paint scheme, especially on the DX's....
Lastly, I had to stop at Stratford on the way home, and I noticed that 52 shunts DC nose has grown even more appendages than normal, and is starting to look like it has a bad case of warts. Not too sure what the extra aerials are about, but hopefully soon we will be able to order pizza with our track warrants....
AH
Picture
"Doctor, I have a lump on my nose..."
Picture
"Still life with ute"
SteveF
8/26/2011 04:26:35 pm

:-)

Reply
SteveF
8/26/2011 04:27:17 pm

:-) was for the Still life with ute!

Reply
Mike
8/27/2011 09:31:07 am

Any chance of posting a photo of the loco shed? Could be just the right building for small nz120 box layout I'm looking at building.

Cheers

Mike

Reply
AH
8/27/2011 11:13:22 am

I will try and find a couple of decent shots of the sheds.
I am not too sure if they were built with locos in mind, only one side is used these days and its used by the Mechanical staff for maintaining wagons..

Good idea for a post that is...
Watch this space.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.