Picture
In what I believe to be a first in milk train history, a milk train (544) rolled in yesterday powered by 2 (!) DXC South Island coal motors -  recent rebuild 5304 and hard core coal route veteran 5241.
I believe they are "loaners" to help out the lower NI due to the clever (!??) decision to release to ARTA some DFT/B's before the DL's arrive.
Sorry there are no pretty sun-over-my-shoulder 3/4 wedges - it was raining and getting late in the day.

Picture
5304, which I missed seeing after its rebuild before it went to the South Island...

Picture
And scungy black snot rocket 5241 showing all the hallmarks of a hard life on the coal route.


I think its fair to say that the South Island DX fleet work a fair bit harder than their North Island brethren.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.