Today brings a fabulous report sent in from the very talented William Rutgers.
William has some cracker shots on the very fussy Rail Pictures website and has written a report for us from a road trip last weekend..
(Thanks William!)
Picture
"you all must be sick of my roster shots and cheesy milk train photos by now??" - AH
Might as well throw this post in the bin then!

Seeing as this is my first post i guess i should quickly introduce myself... hmm where to start...

When I was only one year old my parents bought me a plastic duplo trainset - 18 years later it seems I took i liking to it. Now studying Mechanical Engineering at the local polytech I still dream of being in the hotseat rather than standing lineside taking photos that people give you dumb looks for. But hey, gotta get your kicks somewhere.

A few texts back & fourth with a fellow foamerite and I soon find myself on an Intercity coach bound for palmy running a nice one hour late. After about 10 minutes to stretch my legs we're already in the car to have a goon down at milson - before I know it we're in Wanganui in total darkness (too bad i forgot my tripod).On our return to palmy after even more detours we quickly scanned the various web circles to find a very helpful post by the one & only AH. 542/6:45 departure? right we'll get up at 6. Now off to bed.

6:30 - right, time to get up.

After a mad dash to maccas for your typical teenage breakfast we're on the road to fielding expecting to catch up somewhere between Feilding & Greatford - that plan didn't last for long. "3: proceed from Marton to Wanganui" RIGHT, we're awake.

After finally catching up let the piccies begin.

Picture
Cruising into Eastown to cross 543
Then came a first for me - the climb up the Westmere Bank.
Picture
Picture
Kai iwi Closeup
Then came an event which seemed to be a very common occurance throughout the day.
Picture
On our arrival....
Picture
On 542's arrival
Not much had improved on arrival at Patea.
Picture
Mmmmm, always had a soft spot for derelict buildings
Picture
Playing around with a little fisheye
Our luck changed for a short time at Whareroa
Picture
Almost a roster-shot
After a quick topup in Hawera we were back in time to see 545 being assembled before heading off.
Picture
Any farmiliar faces?
Picture
Somehow I don't think the tanker jockeys enjoyed the view as much as I did
Picture
Playing chicken with some of the Patea crowd
Picture
Yet another gloomy shot as 545 heads south through Waverley
Picture
A guest appearance of the getaway car at Kai iwi
At this point a well needed lunch break was in order so the chase was off. With a little while to wait till the next milkie we went for a little tikitour to track down this -
Picture
A good book would go a long way in this process
This post is starting to get a bit lengthy so I think i'll call intermission

Till next time -

William R
William R
9/23/2011 09:45:35 pm

Cheers Drew!

Hmmm think i might have sent you the draft by mistake... oh well, no major differences. Now to pump out part II.

Reply
Ev
9/24/2011 07:20:06 am

Good work William, despite the gloom youve found some good spots with the Easttown and Patea shots coming off well (but then I would say that, wouldnt I?) :-)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.