Picture
30128's former resting place for the last few years.
Picture
I ran 535 down to Palmy yesterday with 5108, 7226 and 5051 on the front. As I drifted down the arrival road and into the yard, I noticed that long time stop block ornament 30128 had been plucked from the weeds "out the back" and was otherwise missing... 
As I was walked past the depot I spotted 30128 inside, being prepared for towing to Hutt and eventual rebuilding.!!
I dont think the old chook has turned a wheel in years. 
Picture
Once was a flyover...
And in other news... 
After berthing 535 and cutting the locos off, we ran down to the south end of the yard. I had assumed we were going to head over to the loco arrival roads at the south end and then back over the flyover into the depot, but to my surprise, the loco arrival roads and the flyover have been lifted!! 
I had been told that it was to happen, but didnt expect it to happen so quick.
Picture
The shunt signal still standing gaurd.
Picture
The way it used to look...
Picture
and the way it is now, 1 month after the above photo was taken...
We now have to run back up the yard to the north end and zig zag our way back and forth into the loco depot.
As far as I can understand though, there are plans afoot to build a connection from the south end to the loco depot skirting around the ct site somewhere.
I think they intend to bulldoze the old flyover and clean up the land around the old freight center as I think there is something new being built on the land...

Also a quick update on developments at Open Country's loadout site,,,
Picture
Slab has been finished and all rail now in place.
Curiously the overgrown "mainline" west of OC's site has been cleared and out of the weeds has emerged an origonal set of points. Amazingly the siding rails are still there too, buried beneith a foot of rubbish / weeds / dirt...
Picture
before
Picture
after
Picture
Apparently they intend to run the shunt all the way down here with a DC...

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.